Love or Death-part 1

‘Love is death’ – J. Krishnamurti

I saw the turn in front of my eyes. I was riding along the national highway-3, 90 or so kilometres west of Indore. I was outside the village of Khalghat and a smooth turn brought me onto a road, which was going to take me to the tehsil village of Dharampuri. The place where almost whole of my maternal relatives reside.
The road was smooth, exceptionally. Occasionally a vehicle passed by. Road was lined with lush green trees on both sides. Trees included that of Neem, Banyan, Teak, Tamarind and all kinds of trees that are found in M.P. The branches of trees from both sides of the road met above it, making a tunnel of leaves and wood. The pleasant sunshine of January filtered through the leaves made an occasional appearance.
Even at a speed of 40 kmph and with the helmet on one could hear the chirping of the birds. As a bullock cart passed by one could hear the ringing of bells hanging in the bull’s neck. Beyond the trees were the vast farmlands. On the left of the road, at a distance of 300 meters flowed the holy river, Narmada. In this part of the country it is revered as holy as the Ganges. The river provided ample water for the crops.
The air was much cooler than on the highway. I had travelled the same route at least once every month since last 5 years and I had been going there since my birth as my grandparents and uncles reside there. There were less number of vehicles travelling on this road. Due to the strike of the ST buses the number was even lesser.
I pulled the throttle to cover the last few kilometres quickly; I saw a car parked on the roadside. A girl was sitting in the driver’s seat and a lady was bent down on the engine under the hood. At first I paid no attention to it, but then I thought that no buses are running and poor ladies would get almost no help. I turned back to help them.

*******

“Excuse me, can I help you?” as I asked the lady under the hood turned to me. Agony was evident from her face. “Yes” she said breathing a sigh of relief. “Yes please if you can. I am the judge at the tehsil court of Dharampuri. I have to reach there before the evening.” She explained the situation to me. “OK” I started thinking, how I could help them as I had no knowledge about car breakdowns.
“The best I can do is to go to Dharampuri and get a mechanic.” I offered. “That would be a great help.” She seemed much relaxed and calm than what she was when I first saw her.
“I will be back in half an hour or so.”

I returned with a mechanic of my acquaintance. His name was Javed. He checked the car and said “Bhaijaan abhi gadi theek to ho jaegi par Dharampuri me ek din mere paas chodna hogi” I turned to the lady “Is this OK with you?” I asked her. “Of course it is OK with me” she gave her consent. Javed went under the hood and started working.
“So what do you do?” the lady asked. “I am a student,” I answered. “I am into engineering, electronics, that’s my stuff.” I said pointing to her cell phone. “It doesn’t works here. No network.” She said complaining. The girl with the lady was listening to our conversation and was now out of the driver’s seat. “You know that I hate cell phones” she made her opinion about the toy that has changed the way we communicate. I could clearly make out, she was 19-20 years old, and certainly that makes the two of us to belong to same age group. “Even I don’t like this nuisance which one carries voluntarily” I added. The expressions on the girl’s face changed that very instant. May be she was expecting some other kind of response from me. “Really is it so? I thought you, being an electronics engineer would be a patron of the device.” She expressed herself. There was something in her voice that made you want to hear more and more from her, no matter you agree to her or not, no matter it matters to you or not.
“Everything that glitters is not gold. I mean to say that it is not necessary that I am same from inside as what I may seam from outside. My, being an electronics engineer does not imply that I have to like everything that is an electronics device.” I explained my stand. “Hmm, you’re right. Even I have felt same with many things.” She agreed to me, surprisingly.
“You know, the basic flaw lies in human thinking. We tend to classify everything ‘whether I like it’, ‘whether I hate it’. This tendency led you to the conclusion that I must love the device. We always create two sets- good or bad, positive or negative. We try to create order out of chaos. Why don’t we let it be chaotic? Why do we have to love or hate a thing? Why can’t it be there without being loved or hated?” the words came out of my mouth in a breath. I had been thinking about this since a long time but this was first time that I expressed it to someone. “Yes that’s right; one thing that’s good for you might be bad for someone. Every thing is relative. Nothing is good or bad. It is just what it is.” She added. It was good to meet someone who had a same kind of philosophy as yours.
“Bhaijaan, gaadi ban gayi hai.” Javed intervened in our philosophical quest. I turned to the lady. “Beta, please join us for tea at our place” she said. The lady was asking this because she felt obliged for my help. If someone else would have asked for it I might have circumvent the invitation, but it was because of the conversation between me and the girl I felt connected and I agreed.

*******

Having tea at their place revealed me the fact that the lady was Mrs. Rajput. She had been the judge here since last three years and she knew my grandfather very well. The reason she, despite being a judge, was travelling without any security was her daughter who wanted to drive the distance from Indore to Dharampuri on her own. Her daughter wanted to see the place around. I was most obvious choice, according to her, for this purpose, as I knew the place and her daughter and I struck a nice rapport since our first meeting. I accepted it without any resistance and even she had no problems.
This was the first time for me to play a guide and that too to a girl. But I had no problems; there was something in her that made me seek her.

About Rohan Kanungo

Suffering from a disorder that leads to a constant mental escape to other universes and create stories, images and what-not in my mind. I love making friends and catching up with them. Travelling is something which I like a lot but am not able to do much, so I do the next best thing - Reading. I love looking through the window in the nothingness. :) I love my parents, probably the coolest set of individual to get together on the face of the planet.

Posted on November 13, 2008, in कल्‍पित and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

